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DIRECTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE PERMIT APPLICATIONS 

• Must be TYPED or PRINTED. (In blue or black ink) 

• Complete applicable forms FULLY. 

• Follow instructions carefully. 
 
 S.L.A. ZONE OFFICES: 
 

ZONE 1     ZONE 2     ZONE 3 
State Liquor Authority   State Liquor Authority   State Liquor Authority 
317 Lenox Ave.     Alfred E. Smith Bldg.   Iskalo Electric Tower Bldg. 
New York, New York 10027  80 So. Swan S. Suite 900   535 Washington St. Suite 303 
Telephone:  212-961-8385   Albany, NY  12210-8002   Buffalo, New York 14203 

Telephone:  518-474-7604   Telephone:  716-847-3035 
 
 

SYRACUSE DISTRICT OFFICE 
State Office Building 
333 E. Washington St. Room 205 
Syracuse, NY 13202 
Telephone:  315-428-4198 

 
 
 
 
 
Agency Website address: www.abc.state.ny.us 
SLA FORM:  1014 (05/25/07) 
 



AIRCRAFT/STEAMSHIP- FEE- $ 788.00 (3 years)\$ 36.00 (One time) 
 

This application must be filed with the State Liquor Authority Office that supports the county where you 
will establish your business.  See Attached schedule.  
 

A permit may be issued for any of the following types of activities.  Please read the description of the 
permits and their conditions carefully. 
 

Complete questions 1 through 10 plus 14, 15, 16.  Also complete the signature sheet and 
indicate what type of permit you are applying for.  This application is to be used for the purpose of 
obtaining an annual permit under §99-b of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Law, to purchase alcoholic 
beverages from a duly licensed manufacturers or wholesaler, for ship's stores for consumption outside the 
territorial jurisdiction of this State. 
 

The applicant hereby represents that if a permit is issued for the purpose above mentioned, the 
following conditions will be complied with: 
 

1. The alcoholic beverages will be used only for ship's stores for consumption outside the territorial 
jurisdiction of this state. 

 
2. The alcoholic beverages will not be offered for sale or sold in this state. 

 
3. The duplicate permit or a photostat copy thereof will be delivered to each manufacturer or 

wholesaler from whom purchases are made. 
 

4. The alcoholic beverages will be delivered directly to the aircraft/steamship of the permittee or to 
a warehouse for which  a warehouse permit has been issued by the Liquor Authority. 

 
5. Only alcoholic beverages in the original sealed containers which comply with the provisions of 

law with respect to labels and sizes of containers will be purchased. 
 
 
ALCOHOL PERMIT- FEE - $38.00 (3 years) 
 

Complete questions 1 through 5 and 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 16, 16A and signature sheet.  Indicate 
what type of permit you are applying for.  This application is to be used for an alcohol permit for the 
purchase and use of alcohol by the superintendent, or duly authorized officer, of a hospital, museum 
laboratory, art, charitable, educational, or similar public institution, or by drug store, a licensed physician, 
dentist, veterinarian, optometrist and chiropodist, or by a manufacturing establishment using alcohol in its 
processes of manufacture.  May not be purchased from distributor except in sealed containers not larger than 
5 gallons.  Maintain book and records, amount purchased, size of containers, name and address and permit 
number from who it was purchased. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



ANNUAL BEER FUNCTION PERMIT- FEE - $ 74.00 
 

Complete questions 1 through 10 plus 20.  Complete signature sheet and indicate what type of 
permit you are applying for.  This application is to be used by a Brewer or Beer Wholesaler for the issuance 
of an Annual Beer Function Permit, pursuant to §97.2 of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Law, to authorize the 
sale of beer for consumption only and not for resale, at outdoor or indoor gatherings, functions, occasions or 
events to which the general public will not be admitted and to which admission is not made contingent upon the 
payment or an admission fee, donation or contribution.  Person who purchase beer for use at gathering must 
execute and file with the permittee a statement that the beer will not be sold or offered for sale. 
 
BREWER'S OUTDOOR PERMIT 
 

Just a letter is issued. 
 
DISTRIBUTOR'S ALCOHOL PERMIT (A,B,C,D)  
 

Complete questions 1 through 10 plus 15, and 16 and 18.  Complete signature sheet and 
indicate what type of permit you are applying for.  A class "A" permit, Fee-$4,820.00 (3 years) shall 
authorize the holder thereof to sell and distribute to licensed rectifiers alcohol which is to be used for beverage 
purposes and to all holders of permits issued pursuant to this section or sections ninety-one and ninety-two of 
this chapter. 
 

A class "B" permit, Fee - $2,420.00 (3 years) shall authorize the holder thereof to sell and distribute 
alcohol to holders of a class "C"  alcohol distributor's permit or to holders of permits issued pursuant to section 
ninety-one and ninety-two of this chapter. 
 

A class "C" permit, Fee-$500.00 (3 years) shall authorize the holder thereof to sell and distribute 
alcohol to holders of permits issued pursuant to section ninety-two of this chapter and to use alcohol in the 
preparation by him of any of the products enumerated in section ninety-one of the chapter.  Such a permit may 
be applied for by and shall be issued only to a wholesale druggist. 
 

A class "D" permit, Fee- $ 1,172.00 (3 years) shall authorize the holder thereof to sell and distribute 
alcohol to the holder of winery licenses.  Such permit shall be issued only to a person holding a winery license 
under this chapter.  Such permits shall be issued in such form as may be prescribed by the liquor authority, 
and the privileges granted thereby shall be exercised in accordance with the terms and conditions thereof and 
the rules of the liquor authority. 
 
 



DRUG STORE PERMIT-FEE $173.00 (3 YEARS) 
 

Complete questions 1 through 10, plus 12, 15, 16 and 22.  Complete signature 
sheet and indicate what type of permit you are applying for.  This permit shall authorize the 
permittee to sell liquor or wine in the original sealed package for off-premises consumption only 
upon a written prescription by a regularly licensed physician  and in quantity not exceeding one 
pint of liquor and one quart of wine. 
 

The following information must be submitted with your application: 
 

1. A copy of your New York State Pharmacy License. 
HOSPITAL PERMIT-FEE $ 98.00 (3 YEARS) 
 

Complete questions 1 through 10 plus 12.  Complete signature sheet and indicate 
what type of permit you are applying for and present permit number.  This application is to 
be used by a hospital for a permit to purchase liquor, wine or beer for medicinal use only in the 
treatment of bona fide patients of such hospital.  Such permit does not authorize the purchase 
or use of alcohol. 
 

The following information must be submitted with your application: 
 

1. A copy of your New York State Hospital License. 
 

The applicant hereby represents that if a permit is issued for the purpose above 
mentioned, the following conditions will be complied with: 
 

1. The liquor, wine or beer will be used only for medicinal purposes in the treatment 
of bona fide patients of the hospital. 

 
2. The duplicate permit of a photostat copy thereof will be delivered to each 

manufacturer or wholesaler from whom purchases are made. 
 

3. Only liquor, wine or beer in the original sealed containers which comply with the 
provisions of law with respect to labels and sizes of containers will be purchased. 

 
 
INDUSTRIAL ALCOHOL PERMIT-FEE $ 212.00 (3 YEARS) 
 

Complete questions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 18, 19, and 20.  Complete signature 
sheet and indicate what type of permit you are applying for.  This permit shall entitle the 
permittee to purchase alcohol intended for use in the manufacture and sale of any of the 
following when they are unfit for beverage purposes, namely: 
 

a. Denatured alcohol purchased and used pursuant to acts of Congress and 
regulations promulgated thereunder. 

b. Patent, proprietary, medicinal, pharmaceutical, antiseptic and toilet preparations. 
c. Flavoring extracts, syrups and food products. 
d. Scientific, chemical, mechanical and industrial products. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



INDUSTRIAL ALCOHOL MANUFACTURER-FEE $ 2,420.00  
 

Complete questions 1 through 10, 13,16, 18, 19 and 20.  Complete signature sheet 
and indicate what type of permit you are applying for.  Section 91-A- An industrial alcohol 
manufacturer's permit may be issued by the liquor authority entitling the applicant to 
manufacture alcohol intended for use and/or used for the following purposes. 
 

a. For scientific, chemical, mechanical, industrial, medicinal and culinary purposes. 
b. For use by those authorized to procure alcohol tax-free, as provided by the acts 

of congress and regulations promulgated thereunder. 
c. in the manufacture of denatured alcohol as provided by the acts of congress and 

regulations promulgated thereunder. 
d. In the manufacture of patented, patent, proprietary, medicinal, pharmaceutical, 

antiseptic, toilet, scientific, chemical, mechanical and industrial preparations or 
products, unfit for beverage purposes. 

e. In the manufacture of flavoring extracts and syrups, unfit for beverage purposes. 
f. In the manufacture of ethanol from biomass feedstock for use as fuel (including 

but not limited to motor fuel, heating fuel, or fuel for process heat.) 
 

Such permit shall be in such form as prescribed by the rules of the liquor authority and 
shall permit the manufacturer to manufacture and distribute said alcohol to holders of industrial 
alcohol permits, alcohol permits, distributors' alcohol permits class A, distributors' alcohol 
permits class B and distributors' class C but nothing contained herein shall authorize the 
manufacturing an distribution of said alcohol for beverage purposes. 
 

The following is required and must accompany the application: 
Photographs (in duplicate) of exterior of premises at least 5 x 7 inches in size. 
Personal Questionnaire (in duplicate) of Form Q-12 for each person listed as an officer 
or director. 

 
 
MANUFACTURER OF NON-BEVERAGE PRODUCT PERMIT-FEE $788.00 (3 years),  

$36.00(ONE TIME)  
 

Complete questions 1 through 9 plus 11, 12, 13 and signature sheet.  Indicate what 
type of permit you are applying for.  This application is to be used by a manufacturer of non-
beverage products to purchase liquor, wine or beer from duly licensed manufacturers or 
wholesalers for use in the process of manufacture of such products. 

 
This application must be accompanied by: 

 
1. A letter of photostat of a letter from the Alcohol Tax Unit of the U.S. Treasury 

Department stating that the products manufactured by the applicant are classified 
as exempt from special and commodity taxes, unless such letter or photostat has 
been previously filed with the Liquor Authority. 

 
 

The applicant hereby represents that if a permit is issued for the purpose above 
mentioned, the following conditions will be complied with: 
 

1. The liquor, wine or beer will be used only in the process of manufacture of the 
non-beverage products described herein. 

2. The liquor, wine or beer will not be offered for sale nor sold in this state. 
3. The duplicate permit or a photostat copy thereof will be delivered to each 

manufacturer or wholesaler from whom purchases are made. 



4. The liquor, wine or beer will be delivered directly to the manufacturing 
establishment of the permittee and will not be stored elsewhere in the state. 

5. Only liquor, wine or beer in the original sealed containers which comply with the 
provisions of law with respect to labels and sizes of containers may be 
purchased, unless otherwise specifically authorized by the permit. 

6. Records will be kept for two years of all purchases. 
 
 
 
WINE PRODUCTS PERMIT- (SEE FEE SCHEDULE PAGE) 
 

Complete questions 1 through 9 and signature sheet.  Indicate what type of permit your are applying 
for.  Permission is granted to the licensee hereafter designated under Sec. 79-a and 79-b of Alcoholic Beverage 
Control Law, to sell win products containing not more than 6% alcohol by volume. 
 

To obtain this permit and/or to exercise the privileges conferred by this permit applicant/permittee shall be 
subject to the following conditions: 
 

1. The applicant must be currently licensed by a "basic license" to operate either a grocery; drug 
store; eating place; summer eating place; winter eating place; and the premises licensed must be 
open and operating; all as a prerequisite to the issuance of the Wine Product Permit. 

 
2. This Wine Product Permit will only remain valid so long as the "basic license" remains in effect. 

 
3. The sale of wine products under the permit shall be subject to the same rules, restrictions and 

conditions, as apply to the "basic license." 
 

4. The permittee shall exhibit the permit upon demand, to any peace officer or any duly authorized 
representative of the Liquor Authority or the appropriate Local ABC Board having jurisdiction over 
the licensed premises. 

 
5. Said permit shall be placed on display at all times next to “basic license” so that it will be plainly 

visible for inspection. 
 

6. Sale of wine products to anyone under the age of twenty-one is prohibited and may subject the 
permittee to revocation of his Wine Product Permit and “basic license.” 

 
 
 
 
 
Revised 05-2006 
 
 
 
 
 

MISCELLANEOUS II PERMITS 
  

CODE 
 
 TYPE OF PERMIT 

 
 FEE 

 
 ORIGINAL 
 FILING FEE 

 
 BOND 

 
AY-638 

 
AIRCRAFT COMPANY (3 YEARS) 

 
 $ 768.00 

 
 $ 20.00 

 
 NO 

 
MA-738 

 
AIRCRAFT (ONE TIME) 

 
 $  26.00 

 
 $  10.00 

 
 NO 

 
AP-632 

 
ALCOHOL PERMIT (3 YEARS) 

 
 $  18.00 

 
 $  20.00 

 
 NO 



 
 

 
ANNUAL BEER FUNCTION 

 
 $  64.00 

 
 $  10.00 

 
 NO 

 
 

 
BREWERS OUTDOOR 
(JUST A LETTER NEEDED) 

 
 NONE 

 
 NONE 

 
 NO 

 
DA-633 

 
DISTRIBUTORS ALCOHOL "A" 
(3 YEARS) 

 
 $4,800.00 

 
 $ 20.00 

 
 NO 

 
DR-634 

 
DISTRIBUTORS ALCOHOL "B" 
(3 YEARS) 

 
 $2,400.00 

 
 $ 20.00 

 
 NO 

 
DC-635 

 
DISTRIBUTORS ALCOHOL "C" 
(3 YEARS) 

 
 $  480.00 

 
 $ 20.00 

 
 NO 

 
DD-636 

 
DISTRIBUTORS ALCOHOL "D" 
(3 YEARS) 

 
 $1,152.00 

 
 $ 20.00 

 
 NO 

 
DR-644 

 
DRUG STORE (3 YEARS) 

 
 $ 153.00 

 
 $ 20.00 

 
 NO 

 
MH-640 

 
HOSPITAL (3 YEARS) 

 
 $  78.00 

 
 $ 20.00 

 
 NO 

 
IA-630 

 
INDUSTRIAL ALCOHOL (3 YEARS) 

 
 $ 192.00 

 
 $ 20.00 

 
 NO 

 
IM-631 

 
INDUSTRIAL ALCOHOL  
MANUFACTURER (3 YEARS) 

 
 $2,400.00 

 
 $ 20.00 

 
 NO 

 
 

 
INDUSTRIAL ALCOHOL  
MANUFACTURER (FUEL ONLY) 
(3 YEARS) 

 
 NONE 

 
 NONE 

 
 NO 

 
MY-639 

 
MANUFACTURER-NON BEVERAGE 
PRODUCTS (3 YEARS) 

 
 $ 768.00 

 
 $ 20.00 

 
 NO 

 
MM-739 

 
MANUFACTURER-NON BEVERAGE 
PRODUCTS (ONE TIME) 

 
 $  26.00 

 
 $  10.00 

 
 NO 

 
SY-637 

 
STEAMSHIP PERMIT (SHIP STORES) 
(3 YEARS) 

 
 $ 768.00 

 
 $ 20.00 

 
 NO 

 
MS-737 

 
STEAMSHIP PERMIT (SHIP STORES) 
(ONE TIME) 

 
 $  26.00 

 
 $  10.00 

 
 NO 

 
 
 
 
 
 

  
 MISCELLANEOUS II PERMITS 
 
  

CODE 
 
 TYPE OF PERMIT 

 
 FEE 

 
 ORIGINAL 
 FILING FEE 

 
 BOND 

 
 

 
WINE PRODUCT PERMIT 
Cities of Albany, Buffalo, Rochester 
Syracuse, Yonkers, City of New York 

 
 $ 165.00 

 
 NONE 

 
 NO 



(including the boroughs of Manhattan, Bronx, 
Queens, Brooklyn and Staten Island) 

 
 

 
WINE PRODUCT PERMIT 
For all other locations  

 
 $ 83.00 

 
 NONE 

 
 NO 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Revised  05/25/07 



 WHERE TO FILE THE APPLICATION 
 
• Please mail your application to one of the State Liquor Authority Zone offices listed below which supports the county in which you 

will be doing business. 
 
 

 
 ZONE 1 

 
 ZONE 2 

 
 ZONE 3 

 
 State Liquor Authority 
 317 Lenox Ave. 
 New York, NY  10027 

 
 State Liquor Authority 

Alfred E. Smith Bldg. 
 80 S. Swan Street – Suite 900 
 Albany, NY  12210-8002 

 
 State Liquor Authority 
 Iskalo Electric Tower Bldg. 
535 Washington St. Suite 303 
 Buffalo, NY  14203 

 
             Bronx 
             Kings 
             Nassau 
             New York 
             Queens 
             Richmond 
             Suffolk 
             Westchester 

 
     Albany    Broome 
    Clinton    Cayuga                            
    Columbia    Chenango 
     Dutchess    Cortland 
     Essex    Delaware 
     Franklin    Herkimer 
     Fulton    Jefferson 
     Greene    Lewis 
     Hamilton    Madison 
     Montgomery   Onedia 
     Orange    Onondaga 
     Putnam    Oswego 
     Rockland    Otsego 
     Rensselaer                St. Lawrence 
     Saratoga    
 Schenectady  
 Schoharie  
     Sullivan 
     Ulster   
     Warren 
     Washington 

 

 
            Allegany 
            Cattaraugus 
            Chautauqua 
            Chemung 
            Erie 
            Genesee 
            Livingston 
            Monroe 
            Niagara 
            Ontario 
            Orleans 
            Schuyler 
            Seneca 
            Steuben 
            Tioga 
            Tompkins 
            Wayne 
            Wyoming 
            Yates 

 
 
 
Revised 05/25/07 


